Fall Conference

The APWA-MN Fall Conference is held each November in Minneapolis-St. Paul. The two-day conference is focused on technical education and offers hours towards professional continuing education requirements. Winners of the APWA-MN chapter awards and recipients of chapter scholarships are announced and recognized during the fall conference. 

The 2024 Fall Conference will be Nov. 21-22, 2024 at the Mystic Lake Center in Prior Lake.

Exhibitor information will be available in August 2024; attendee registration will open in September 2024. 

2023 Conference

The 2023 Fall Conference, Nov. 16-17 at the Mystic Lake Center in Prior Lake, was filled with outstanding education, plenty of time for networking, and beautiful fall weather. The Thursday evening cornhole event was a hit, with the team of Michael Kirsch and Kyle Imholte taking the championship.

Nearly 500 attendees and 140 exhibit booth staff representing 54 vendors enjoyed this annual flagship event. "This was my first time attending and the conference was great," and "My favorite conference of the year based on location and content" are a couple of comments shared by attendees.

A special thank you to our wonderful sponsors and exhibit hall vendors for your support and partnership!

Download the pre-conference brochure and conference handout for additional details. A summary of sessions is below.

Conference registrants seeking session handouts, PDH form and other information should refer to the link in the Nov. 13, 2023 email from mary@crescendoconsultingsolutions.com

A special congratulations to the APWA-MN 2023 local award winners and scholarship recipients recognized at the conference:

  • Hugo G. Erickson Award: John Rodeberg, SEH 
  • Public Works Employee of the Year: Emma Struss, City of Bloomington
  • Superintendent of the Year: Mike Olmstead, Hennepin County
  • Engineering Technician of the Year: Brian Dahlberg, City of Golden Valley
  • Project of the Year - Environmental: Robbinsdale Water Infrastructure Transformation
  • Project of the Year - Outstate: TH 61 Reconstruction in Grand Marais
  • Project of the Year - Structures: Duck Lake Road Reconstruction
  • Project of the Year - Transportation: Highway 10/169 Improvements
  • Scholarship Recipients: Blake Carroll, DCTC; Cedric Dylan Kenfack Dongmo, St. Cloud Tech & Community College; Daniel Kropp, St. Cloud Tech & Community College; Hailey Coda, UMD; Richard Kenfack Metangmo, MSU Moorhead; Tessa Edge, U of M Twin Cities; Noah Struck, U of M Twin Cities; and Hunter Williamette, SDSU.

Thursday, November 16

7:15 am Registration, Breakfast with Exhibitors
7:30 am Young Professional/First-Time Attendee Breakfast
8:30 am Welcome
8:45 am Keynote: Leading and Working Through an Inclusive Lens
9:45 am Break, Exhibit Hall
10:15am Session: The MN PFAS Blueprint Monitoring Plan and Community Water Supply Case        Studies 
11:15 am Scholarship Presentation, Certificate Recognition, Awards
Noon Luncheon 
1:00 pm Concurrent Sessions
2:15 pm Exhibit Hall
2:45 pm Concurrent Sessions
4:00 pm Networking Reception and Exhibit Hall
6:00 pm Cornhole Challenge Tournament and Networking Event


Friday, November 17

7:15 am Past President’s Breakfasts 
7:45 am Registration and Breakfast 
8:15 am Welcome
8:20 am Session: Brainerd’s Journey Reconnecting the Community to the Mississippi River
9:20 am Break
9:45 am Session: Stop Thinking Like a City
10:45am Session: Infrastructure Resilience Advisory Task Force
11:30am Business Meeting and Officer Installation
Noon Luncheon 
1:00 pm Session: Take Us to the Treetops: Construction, Connection and Conservation on the World’s Largest Elevated Pedestrian Loop
2:00 pm Session: Ethics Case Studies from the FBI Corruption Team
3:00 pm Adjourn


Mary Detloff, CAE, Crescendo Consulting Solutions
Conference Planning Consultant

APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2024 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map