Latest News

APWA-MN Chapter Fall General Membership Business Meeting Recap

November 11, 2020

General Business Meeting Summary
By Lydia Ener (WSB), APWA-MN Chapter Communications Chair
The APWA Minnesota Chapter held the annual Fall General Membership Business Meeting on November 5, 2020. Like many things in 2020, the format was different than previous years, but we made the best of it! The meeting was held over Zoom with chapter members and Executive Committee members in attendance. The agenda followed a similar format to previous years including:
  • Secretary/Treasurer report by Secretary/Treasurer Nick Egger
  • President’s Report by President Russ Matthys
  • Awards Recognition by Awards Chair Sarah Lloyd and Vice Chair Richard McCoy
  • Teller’s Committee Report by Past President Amy Grothaus
  • Recognition of Outgoing Execution Committee Members by President Russ Matthys
  • 2021 Executive Committee Installation by Chapter Delegate Jeannine Clancy and Alternate Delegate Chris Petree
Past President Amy Grothaus announced the results of the chapter’s 2020 election and introduced the following new members to the 2021 Executive Board:
  • President – Beth Engum, CBS Squared, Inc.
  • Vice President – Nick Egger, City of Hastings
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Monica Heil, WSB
  • Director-Manager/Engineer – Zach Johnson, City of Lakeville
  • Director-Vendor/Contractor – Mike Purdy, MacQueen Equipment
  • Director-Superintendent – Deb Williams, City of Bloomington
Detailed meeting minutes, including financial reports, will be available for the General Membership Business Meeting on the APWA-MN website. 
Chapter Announces 2020 Award Winners
By Sarah Lloyd (Bolton & Menk, Inc.), APWA-MN Chapter Awards Committee Chair
The 2020 APWA-MN Chapter Awards program had a successful year thanks to the great nominations made by our chapter members. 
The Awards Committee recognized four of our Public Works colleagues with Personnel awards and four Project awards. Due to the quality of projects/submittals and the great range of projects submitted, the Awards Committee awarded one Project of the Year and two Honorable Mention Projects of the Year, the committee also recognized an Environmental Stewardship initiative. The Awards Ceremony looked a little different this year, with no Fall Conference, but we were still able to recognize award recipients during the General Business meeting on November 5th.  
Hugo G. Erickson – Kristin Asher, City Engineer/Public Works Director, City of Richfield

Public Works Employee of the Year – Jary Lee, Engineer III, City of St. Paul
Public Works Superintendent of Year – Linda Mullen, Utilities Superintendent, City of Burnsville
Public Works Manager/Director of the Year – John Olson, Public Works Manager, City of Hutchinson
ENVIRONMENTAL STEWARDSHIP AWARD: City of Eden Prairie – Sustainable Eden Prairie
Project of the Year – Fridley Civic Campus. Owner – City of Fridley; Designer – BKV Group, Oertel Architects, and Wenck Associates; Contractor – McGough Construction
Project of the Year, Honorable Mention – CSAH 21 Downtown Prior Lake Improvements. Owner – City of Prior Lake; Designer – Bolton & Menk, Inc.; Contractor – S.M. Hentges & Sons, Inc.
View YouTube video of the project here
Project of the Year, Honorable Mention – Levee Park Dock Improvements. Owner – City of Red Wing; Designer – Kimley Horn & Associates; Contractor – Meyer Contracting
In addition to the chapter local awards, the Awards Committee recognized the APWA National Award recipients:
  • Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the YearKristin Asher, City of Richfield
  • Professional Manager of the Year – Water ResourcesSteve Klein, Barr Engineering Company
  • Public Works Project of the Year, Historical Restoration/Preservation - $5 million, but less than $25 million categoryCity of Minneapolis Historic North Loop District Project
Visit the Awards page on the chapter’s website for previous award winners.
The Chapter would like to congratulate all who received awards this year, as well as everyone who was nominated or submitted a nomination. Awards are always a highlight of the year, and truly show the dedication, hard work, and innovation of all the chapter members and sponsors! 
Thank you for your continued chapter support, and we hope to gather in-person again soon! 

APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2023 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map