Latest News

Chapter Announces 2014 Award Winners

December 8, 2014

By Amy Grothaus, Braun Intertec

The 2014 APWA-MN Chapter Awards program was extremely successful, thanks to the great nominations made by our chapter members.  

As determined by the Awards Committee, the Cedar Grove Redevelopment Project in the City of Eagan was selected for Project of the Year.

Accepting the award on behalf of the city, whose project team included Bolton & Menk, Inc., Northwest Asphalt and Enebak, was Russ Matthys, Public Works Director, City of Eagan. Nearly 16 years in the works, the project successfully reinvigorated the 65-acre area, requiring a complete and massive redesign of the area’s streets and utilities to accommodate the needs of a highly attractive, game-changing retail development. (See photo below.)  









Recognized as Project of the Year, Honorable Mention Recipients were: 

  • City of St. Cloud Sewer Interceptor System Rehabilitation Project designed by TKDA and contracted by Lametti & Sons Inc.
  • Target Field Station, whose team included Hennepin County Public Works, Perkins Eastman, and Knutson Construction.

Scott County, the City of Prior Lake, and Bolton & Menk, Inc. received the Environmental Stewardship Award for their work on the CSAH 12 Improvements Project. The design significantly improved the quality of surrounding waterways and had a positive impact on multiple facets of the community and natural environment.(See photo below.)










Personnel Award Recipients for 2014 were:










Director of the Year: Mike Eastling, City of Richfield. (See Sun Current coverage here.)














Supervisor of the Year: Larry Cooper, MnDOT.










Superintendent of the Year: John Harlow, City of Brooklyn Center & 
Maintenance Employee of the Year: Marc Booth, City of Brooklyn Center.

Amy Grothaus, Project Engineer with Braun Intertec, and Mark Hansen, Assistant City Engineer with the City of Coon Rapids, received the Hugo G. Erickson Award for excellence in chapter service. (See photo below.)

Both Amy and Mark have served on the Chapter’s Executive Committee as Directors, serving as liaison to the Chapter Awards Committee. Each has served on the Awards Committee for the past eight years and each have served as Committee Chair. Their efforts working on the Awards Committee have been very successful, helping establish Minnesota as an APWA leader. Many thanks to Amy and Mark for his service to the public works profession in Minnesota!  

Congratulations to all the winners!

Submit APWA 2015 Awards Nominations by January 9
The close of this year’s local chapter awards leads us to the national APWA awards program. Nominations for national awards are due to APWA in early March 2015. Therefore, we are asking anyone interested in submitting an award to contact Sarah Rippke of Bolton & Menk or Amy Grothaus of Braun Intertec by January 9, 2015.

The awards committee would be happy to assist you or your agency with putting together your nomination packet. Nomination forms can be downloaded from the APWA website.

APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2021 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map