Latest News

Minnesota Chapter Earns APWA Awards

May 2, 2013

Minnesota Chapter Earns APWA Awards

The following APWA Awards will be presented  during the Awards Recognition Ceremony and Reception at the 2013 APWA Congress in Chicago later this summer.  If you are attending the conference, please make plans to attend this event to congratulate and show support to our winners! 

Tom Montgomery, Public Works Director for the City of Hastings, received APWA’s Top Ten Public Works Leader of the Year award. Tom will be presented with his award by APWA Region VI Director Larry Stevens at the APWA-MN Chapter Spring Conference

Tom has a distinguished 35-year career in public works starting with the Army Corp of Engineers. Since 1984, he has served the City of Hastings. Tom has shown a strong commitment to the advancement of others, internally and externally -- serving on the Minnesota Chapter’s Education & Training Committee since 2003 and working with a multitude of committees, including the Chapter’s Leadership Academy, Underground Utility Construction Inspectors School, and Public Works Certificate Program

Tom has been very active in APWA-MN, having served as a committee chair, director, secretary/treasurer, vice president, and president. Tom literally is one of the faces of public works in Minnesota and is highly deserving of this award. Congratulations, Tom!

Our other national APWA award winners include:

  • Klayton Eckles (City of Woodbury).  Klayton received the Charles Walter Nichols Award for Environmental Excellence. This award recognizes outstanding and meritorious achievements in the environmental field.
  • City of Duluth. The City of Duluth received the Exceptional Performance Award in the category of Adversity. The city was recognized for its outstanding response to the 2012 500-year storm event, which caused an estimated $57 million in damage to public and private infrastructure within the city.
  • Ramsey County, Union Station.  Ramsey County’s Union Station project in downtown St. Paul was recognized as an APWA Project of the Year in the category of Historic Renovation > $75 million
  • City of Maplewood. The City of Maplewood received a Sustainability Practices Award. This award recognizes individuals, teams, or organizations that have made outstanding contributions to promote sustainability in public works. Sustainability is accomplished by the efficient delivery of infrastructure in an environmentally and socially responsible way that ensures the best choice in the long term.

Learn more about the APWA Awards Program.

Learn more about the Minnesota Chapter's Awards Program.


APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2020 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map