Latest News

The Work of the APWA-MN History Committee

August 25, 2014

The Work of the APWA-MN History Committee

Dave Hutton, Chair, APWA-MN History Committee

The History Committee is no longer history.

It has been resurrected by the strong armed tactics of our delegate, Angela Popenhagen, and the weak mind of past president, Dave Hutton.

We have a fairly robust and energetic committee, consisting of the following members: Dave Hutton (Chair), Mike Nill, Jennifer Levitt, Tom Thompson, Jim Gates, Phil Elkin, Greg Anderson, Tom Montgomery, and executive liaison, Angela Popenhagen. 

Our first organizational meeting was held June 5, 2014, where we established details such as the frequency of meetings, location, etc., as well as brainstormed ideas for committee tasks and goals. 

Things that came out of the brainstorming are newsletter and web site updates; conference presentations or displays; tours of cool, historically relevant projects; continue with the “where are they now” series to reflect on past members; and, of course, creating a historical archive for the chapter. For example, did you know that Minnesota has hosted the National Congress in 2005, 1997, 1972, 1961, and 1944 (St Paul), which was two years before our Chapter Charter was approved!

In addition, a primary focus of the committee is to also develop something for our 70th anniversary in 2016, which coincides with the National Congress in Minneapolis.

If you are interested in joining this committee or have ideas on things we can do or what you want to see from the committee, please contact any of the committee members. 

APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2020 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map