APWA National Groups and Committees

APWA offers a number of opportunities for its members to get involved at the national level by providing various groups and committees which are active throughout the year. APWA Minnesota recognizes the following members serving as committee members or Chapter liaisons on these groups and committees.

Center for Sustainability (C4S) Tyler McLeete, Associate
  (Chapter liaison)
Purpose: The APWA Center for Sustainability (C4S) provides tools and resources to APWA members and
community leaders that allow decision-makers to implement more sustainable, economically sound, and socially
responsible long-term solutions.
Chapter Historian Dave Hutton, Sr. Professional Engineer


Diversity & Inclusion Committee Beverly Farraher, Operations Manager
  City of St. Paul, Minnesota
  (Committee member)
APWA Diversity Statement: The American Public Works Association recognizes, appreciates and fosters the synergy which is created when the work environment values the differences in individuals and practices inclusiveness and open communication.
Emergency Management Committee Mark Ray, Director of Public Works
  City of Crystal
  (Committee member)
Committee's Mission: To provide APWA members with resources and a forum for exchanging and developing
ideas, knowledge, and technologies for minimizing the impact and consequences for disasters. It also intends
to foster recognition of public works' important role(s) in emergency management, including its strong
involvement in mitigation and recovery, as well as influencing public policies that will strengthen the ability of
government at all levels to better address disaster management.
Engineering & Technology Committee Dave Hutton, Sr. Professional Engineer
  (Chapter liaison)

Committee’s Mission: To encourage sharing and application of knowledge about engineering and technology and advancing these practices in public works, pursuing APWA’s mission to develop and support the people, agencies, and organizations that plan, build, maintain and improve our communities.

Facilities and Grounds Committee  

Committee’s Mission: The mission of the Facilities and Grounds Committee of the APWA is to provide APWA members with the resources for exchanging and developing ideas, information, skills, knowledge, and technologies for the operation, management, and maintenance of public buildings, grounds, and parks. The committee also recommends and advances APWA policies and positions concerning public facilities and grounds issue.

Fleet Services Committee Kevin Schlangen, Fleet Manager
  Dakota County, Minnesota
  (Committee member)
Committee's Mission: To support APWA's role as the recognized leaders in public works by providing its
members with the resources for exchanging and developing ideas, information, skills, knowledge and technologies for the operation, management, and maintenance of public works vehicles and equipment fleets. The committee also recommends and advances APWA policies and positions concerning fleet operations.
Leadership and Management Committee  

Committee’s Mission: To advance public works professionalism through research, application and advocacy of innovative leadership and best management practices.

Solid Waste Management Committee  

Committee’s Mission: The Solid Waste Management Committee serves its members by supporting APWA's role as the recognized leader in public works by providing its members with the resources for exchanging and developing ideas, information, skills, knowledge, and technologies for the operation, management, and maintenance of solid waste facilities.

Transportation Committee  
Committee’s Mission: To provide APWA members with resources for exchanging and developing ideas, information, skills, knowledge, and technologies for the advancement of APWA’s transportation objectives and to develop and promote environmentally sound, sustainable, cost effective, and safe systems that enhance the livability and quality of life in our communities through active public involvement.
Utilities and Public Rights-of-Way Committee  

Committee’s Mission: Provides education and information raising awareness about utility-related issues and promoting the best use of the public rights-of-way.

Water Resources Management Committee  

Committee’s Mission: On behalf of APWA members, we promote and provide education on best management practices for water resources to achieve resilient and sustainable systems.

Young Professionals Committee Chris LaBounty, Acting Water & Sewer Utility Manager
  City of Minnetonka
  (Chapter liaison)
Committee's Mission: The Young Professionals Committee supports the APWA strategic priority to "create opportunities for engagement of students, young professionals and emerging leaders through new and positive experiences." Principal objectives of the Young Professionals Committee are to provide more educational and professional development opportunities for younger members of APWA (age 35 and younger) and to enhance the opportunities for younger members to have interaction with other members and to participate in chapter and national events. The committee is made up of nine individuals, one from each of APWA’s nine regions, and meets monthly by conference call and face-to-face each year at PWX. View the Young Professionals Committee Roster.
Partnerships, Task Forces & Coalitions
National Homeland Security Consortium Mark Ray, Director of Public Works
  City of Crystal, MN
  (APWA representative - 2018-19)
The National Homeland Security Consortium is a forum for public and private sector disciplines to coalesce efforts and perspectives about how best to protect America in the 21st century.
The consortium consists of 21 national organizations that represent local, state, and private professionals. The consortium represents the array of professions that deliver the daily services vital to the safety and security of the United States. The consortium represents the first and secondary responders as well as those who will provide the sustained effort necessary to respond to any major emergency, including leadership and direction by elected and appointed officials. 
The NHSC is an example of expanded local, state, and private coordination needed by growing national demands.
The consortium's members recognize that people in the United States live in large population centers that have complex, overlapping, and interrelated governmental and political structures. At the same time, rural and less populated regions of the country have citizens who expect and deserve safety and security from any hazard that may threaten their communities. Consequently, state and local government organizations that the NHSC represents have taken the initiative to significantly expand their collaboration in order to respond effectively in a crisis. We know that none of us can be effective attempting to work in isolation.
The consortium provides a neutral forum for organizations to exchange ideas, have candid discussions, and galvanize input to the federal government. The differing perspectives of member organizations do not always provide for unanimity on specifics of implementing national initiatives. Consortium members do not aim for group think but aspire to group understanding. More often than not, however, the members have found easy consensus on the consortium's major goals.
Membership in the NHSC is by invitation only.


APWA-MN Chapter, PO Box 46266, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-9712 | 1-888-407-2650 | Copyright © 2019 | Privacy Policy | Site Credits | Site Map